Anugerah Persuratan

In picture: Tun Seri Lanang Award recipient, Mdm Rasiah Halil (left) and Promising Award recipient, Mr Farihan Bahron at the 2017 Malay Literary Award ceremony. (Picture source: Berita Harian)

The Malay Language Council, Singapore (MBMS) has been organising the Anugerah Persuratan since 1993 as a biennial event and is part of the council’s effort to recognise Malay language writers. Other than recognition of works, the event also aims to develop and encourage writers to produce works in Malay language, encourage publication of high quality works and promote Malay literary in the community.

Objectives of Anugerah Persuratan


Awards presented for Anugerah Persuratan

  1. Tun Seri Lanang Award

    The Tun Seri Lanang Award is presented to an established writer in the Malay Language scene for their contribution to the literary arts. It is the pinnacle award in this event in recognition of their achievements and contributions. The recipient will receive $5,000 cash and a $5,000 research grant. 

  2. Tun Seri Lanang Posthumous Award

    Anumerta Tun Seri Lanang is given to an arts practitioner who has passed away in recognition of their contribution to the arts scene. The family of the posthumous recipient will receive $2,000. 

  3. Promising Award

    This award is given to writers aged below 40 who have shown prominent potential in the literary arena with significant artistic achievement and contribution. It encourages young practitioners to continue pursuing excellence in the arts, and to look towards inspiring others. The recipient of the award will receive $3,000. 

  4. Literary Prizes

The literary prizes are awarded to writers in different genres such as novel, short story and poetry in recognition of their literary excellence for the publication.


Call for Submissions

The call for submission is now open. You can also refer to the Frequently Asked Questions here.


To submit your works via the online submission form, please click this link.


Nominations for Anugerah Tun Seri Lanang, Anumerta Tun Seri Lanang dan Anugerah Harapan

AP2020 welcomes the public to nominate literary figures for these three awards. To submit your nomination via the online nomination form, please click this link.



The deadline for online submissions of works as well as nominations is Thursday, 12 November 2020, 6pm.


If you require any assistance or have further enquiries, please email Ms Shafienas ( or Ms Elly (, or contact Ms Shafienas at 63425125.