Winners of Mastera Translation Prize 2019

Source: National Arts Council (NAC)

Key Note for Mastera 2019

Source: National Arts Council (NAC)

Majlis Sastera Asia Tenggara, also known as Mastera, is a regional language organisation which is formed to plan and monitor the development of Malay / Indonesian Language & Literature in the Southeast Asian Region. Mastera was established and founded by 3 countries: Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia and Malaysia.

The first Mastera conference was held at Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka in Kuala Lumpur on 12 August 1996. The event was also attended by representatives from Singapore, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam

In 2012, Singapore - who has been an Observer since its inception, has become an official member of Mastera. As a member, Singapore will now work closely with the other member countries in their efforts to further develop the Malay Language & Literature in the region.

Singapore hosted Mastera in 2015 and 2019.